Logging Off versus Disconnecting from the Citrix Desktop

Logging Off versus Disconnecting from the Citrix Desktop

There are two ways to end your Citrix session:

Signing out (Logging off) means fully logging off of Citrix and signing out of your profile. This closes all open applications and closes your session requiring a fresh login next time you connect. You must logoff daily to ensure your desktop experience runs smoothly. If your IT department asks to Log off, you should use this Sign out option.

Disconnecting by selecting “Disconnect” from the connection bar or from the Start menu will leave your session as is on the server with applications remaining open. This is a good method to use if you plan on reconnecting to your same session within 15 minutes. This disconnected state does not save your documents so be sure to save any work before disconnecting. When you reconnect to your disconnected session it should login right as you left it with the running applications. 

Rebooting your local computer does not properly log you out of the Citrix desktop, it will only disconnect your session.

How to Sign Out/ Log Off of the Citrix desktop

There are a few methods available for logging off/signing out of your Citrix Desktop.

Method 1

Go to your Start Menu in the bottom left of your screen, click on your account icon, and click on “Sign out”


Method 2

Right-click on the Start Menu in the bottom right hand corner. Hover over Shut down or sign out and choose "Sign out". Note you can also disconnect from this menu.


Method 3

Expand the black bar at the top of your Citrix desktop screen and select CTL+ALT+DEL then “Sign out”. This bar is only available when you are not working on a Thin Client.